Effective date: April 12, 2020
When you first install the Jumpcut extension you are asked to grant the following permissions:
Read and change your data on all youtube.com sites (will be shown as permission "Read your browsing history")
Jumpcut does not and never will read your browsing history. This permission is required for Jumpcut to know which YouTube video you are watching, allow Jumpcut to modify the behavior of the YouTube player, and display Jumpcut's interactive functionality. This is mentioned in Google's policies here.
Writing to Clipboard (will be shown as permission "Modify data you copy and paste")
This permission is required to allow Jumpcut to instantly put shareable links in your clipboard for your convenience. This is only done when you specifically click on the share button. Again, despite some abiguous terminology, Jumpcut does not and will never read information you copy or paste.
This permission is required to allow Jumpcut to locally store information that allows the full functionality of Jumpcut - including the loss of data if the user is creating a new Jumpcut and closes the window, as well as session information to avoid the need to repeatedly sign in.
This permission is necessary if the user wishes to actively participate in Jumpcut, for example, if the user wishes to create a new Jumpcut or rate other Jumpcuts the extension needs to link the current identity to a Jumpcut identity. We will not share your private information with any other entity, nor send any promotional messages to your contact information. The information retrieved from this identity is: user ID, Name (to credit the Jumpcut tagger), email, link to your profile picture (for a profile page).
Data required for functionality (i.e., Jumpcuts rating history) is stored securely on Jumpcut's database. If the user chooses to create an account, the account details (i.e., display name and email) need to be stored as well. You may contact Jumpcut to remove your account and data at any time. All requests to Jumpcut's servers are sent with secure, encrypted connections.
Non-personally identifiable (anonymous) information regarding Jumpcut usage (i.e, irrelevant video time skipped with Jumpcut, counters of added cuts) is stored strictly to improve the general Jumpcut experience and provide metrics about the quality of Jumpcuts users tag.
YouTube's Terms of Service can be accessed here.